DIY test: tinted lip balm

Standard

Hi Reader 🙂

I know that this topic is long old news but I decided to share my results anyway.

Because of a trend that was spreading around the internet, I make a DIY test only to get answer for my curiosity. That trend was DIY – homemade tinted lip balm.

Ingredients:

  • Petroleum jelly
  • Kool + aid (red, cant remember the flavor)

I mixed little bit of the petroleum jelly with a little bit of the kool aid. I did not measure it because on every recipe that I find, the measurements were different. So I „winged“ it 😀
The end result was textured, thick consistency, red, with very strong scent. I immediately saw why it looked like that. The kool aid needs watter to dissolve the granules. And if I first dissolve the kool aid with water, I will not be able to combine that mixture with the petroleum jelly (because of its consistency). I don’t have pictures so I can show you the results because I threw it away but now when I’m writing this post I wish that I took some pictures. But, you only need pictures when something works, right? 🙂

I tested in on the lips anyway.

Is it usable? No.

It was a big fail.  It came out very thick, with weird texture, was very rough on the lips and because of the strong cool aid flavor, it was hurting my lips. There is no way that I could make it work.

If you haven’t tried it yet, that was the right choice because it was not worth the time.

I hope that you will find my opinions helpful.

Remember to do something good today.

Stay positive 🙂

Regards from Antidote 😉

Leave a comment